Wednesday, November 15, 2006

Maflin and Jans top World Snooker

Kurt Maflin from Norway and Wendy Jans from Belgium came out on top at the IBSF World Snooker Championships.

Maflin beat Daniel Ward (England) 11-8 in the men's final while Jans whitewashed Wan-Ip In (Hong Kong) 5-0. Both winners were undefeated throughout the tournament.

A Main Tour spot was on offer to the winner of the men's event. That means Maflin will compete against the top pros in the 2007/2008 season. This will be his second stint on the world's major snooker tour.

Keith E Boon (Singapore) had the highest break of the tournament with a magnificent 147.

Pakistan's Mohammad Yousuf won the title in the Masters (Over 40s) division. He beat Glen Wilkinson from Australia 5-4 in the final.

The event was held 5-15 November in the Regency Palace, Amman, Jordan.

See also:

Tuesday, November 14, 2006

Allison Fisher wins Nationals for second title in a row

England's Allison Fisher won the Cuetec Cues WPBA Nationals for her second WPBA title in a row.

In the final she edged South Korea's Ga Young Kim 7-6. Karen Corr (N.Ireland) and Kelly Fisher (England) finished joint third.

This latest addition to her tropy cabinet came less than a month after she captured the US Open.

This was her third WPBA win of the season and the 54rd title of her career. The win will strengthen her lead in the WPBA rankings.

Fisher took away $14,000 for first place. Young won $8,000 for finishing second.

The event took place from November 8-12 at the Chinook Winds Casino, Lincoln City, Oregon.

See also:

Related posts:

Blomdahl reigns in Spain

Sweden's Torbjörn Blomdahl proved he can still play after winning the 3 cushion World Cup event in Turkey.

In the final he beat Semih Sayginer from the host nation 3-1. Martin Horn from Germany and Tayfun Tasdemir (Turkey) shared third spot.

The event took place at Hotel Marine Princess, Istanbul, Turkey November 6-12. It was the last World Cup event of the year.

The win will not be enough to take him to the top of the World Cup ranking. Daniel Sanchez (Spain) is too far ahead.

See also:
Related posts:

Sunday, November 12, 2006

Ronnie Alcano wins World Pool Championship

NB! This post covers the 2006 world championship. For news on the 2007 event see "Daryl Peach is first British winner of the World Pool Championship".

Filipino Ronnie Alcano won the World Pool Championship on home turf.

In the final he defeated Germanys' Ralf Souquet 17-11 to grab the $100,000 first prize. Souquet's runner-up place earned him $40,000. Alcano overcame Li He-wen from China in the semi-finals with a 11-8 scoreline. Souquet won a hill-hill battle with Fu Che-wei (Taiwan).

Alcano scraped through from the group stages but played brilliantly throughout the single elimination phase. Prior to the Li match he beat Robert Gomez (Philippines) 10-1, Efren Reyes (Philippines) 10-7, Kuo Po-cheng (Taiwan) 11-5, and defending champion Wu Chia-ching (Taiwan) 11-6.

This was Alcano's first time in a world final. Souquet had been there twice before, lifting the trophy in 1996. Alcano is the third Filipino to win the world title, following Reyes (1999) and Alex Pagulayan (2004).

The event was dominated by the Asian contingent. Souquet was the only non-Asian to reach the quarter-finals. USA had a very disapponting showing. For the first time they had no players in the last 32.

The tournament ran from November 4-12 at the Philippine International Convention Center, Manila.

See also:

Related posts:

Saturday, November 04, 2006

The World Pool Championship has started

Play has started in the World Pool Championship.

This is the major event on the pool sports calendar. It runs from November 4-12 at the Philippine International Convention Center, Manila. The winner will receive $100,000.

17 year-old Wu Chia-ching from Taiwan is the defending champion. He'll have lots of tough competitors in Manila. There's plenty of top Asian players on site, mainly from the host nation and Taiwan.

Some of the favorites are Efren Reyes (Philippines), Ralf Souquet (Germany), Earl Strickland (USA), Mika Immonen (Finland), Oliver Ortmann (Germany), Marlon Manalo (Philippines) and Thorsten Hohmann (Germany).

Before the tournament a number of qualifiers were held. A total of 14 players made it through to the main event:
  • Philippines (8): Roberto Gomez, Eduardo Villanueva, Lee Van Corteza, Antonio Lining, Leonardo Andam, Israel Lota, Jharome Pena and Rudy Morta
  • Taiwan (4): Nien Rong-chih, Hsia Hun-kai, Lu Hsun-chen and Chin ju-chen
  • Singapore (1): Tan Tiong Boon
  • Japan (1): Tomoo Takano

The 128 players have been drawn into 32 four-man groups. The top two from each group advance to the single elimination stage.

Group matches are race-to-eight. The opening two rounds in the single elimination cup are best-of-19. After that the format is first-to-11. The final is best of 33 racks. All matches are alternate breaks.

See also:

Related posts: