Friday, November 30, 2007

Mahitthi and Evans victorious in the IBSF World Snooker Championship

Thailand's Atthasit Mahitthi and Reanne Evans from England won gold medals at the IBSF World Snooker Championships.

Mahitthi beat fellow Thai Passakorn Suwannawat 11-7 in the men's final while Evans blanked defending champion Wendy Jans (Belgium) 5-0.

This was Mahitthi's first world title. His previous best was joint third in 2006. Evans has won once before, in 2004. She is also a three-time defending champion of the World Ladies Snooker Championship, organized by the World Ladies Snooker & Billiards Association.

The victory means Mahitthi is set to be nominated for a place on the Main Tour in the 2008/2009 season.

The highest break of the tournament was 140 by Alex Borg (Malta). Evans had a 64 in the Ladies division and Kieran McMahon (Northern Ireland) topped the Masters break table with a 115.

Former pro Darren Morgan won the Masters (Over 40s). He beat Karnchai Wongian from Thailand 5-1 in the final.

The event was held 11-25 November in Sima Thani Hotel, Korat, Thailand.

See also:

Related posts:

Saturday, November 17, 2007

Allison Fisher reigns supreme in the Cuetec Cues WPBA National 9-Ball Championship

England's Allison Fisher won the Cuetec Cues WPBA National Championship for the seoond year in a row.

In the final she defeated countrywoman Kelly Fisher 7-2. Ga Young Kim (South Korea) and Jeanette Lee (USA) finished joint third.

It was Fisher's seventh National Championship. It was also her fourth WPBA win of the season and the 51st title of her career.

This was the last of eight events on the 2007 WPBA Classic Tour. The win made Fisher the clear winner in the rankings. Next year all players will start off with zero points. Results from the four prior events will decide the seedings.

The event took place from November 8-11 at the Chinook Winds Casino, Lincoln City, Oregon. For the first time there was a group stage in the qualifying rounds. Also the field was trimmed down to 48 from the usual 64.

See also:
Related posts:

Ryuuji Umeda wins World Three Cushion Championship

NB! This is the 2007 World Championship. Also see the 2008 World Championship.

Ryuuji Umeda from Japan won the World Three Cushion Championship.

In the tight final against Daniel Sanchez from Spain he won 3-2, with the set scores 6-15, 15-9, 4-15, 15-7 and 15-12. Dick Jaspers (Netherlands) and Ramón Rodriguez (Peru) captured the bronze medals.

Sanchez had the highest average in the tournament, with 1.805. He also had the highest single match average with 2.647. Gerhard Kostiansky (Austria) had the highest run with 12.

This was Umeda's first world title and Japan's first since Nobuaki Kobayashi won in 1984. Nice timing with next year's event being held in Tokyo.

Japan now holds both world titles as Orie Hide won the 2006 Ladies World Championship.

Defending champion Eddy Merckx (Belgium) finished in 12th place.

The win takes Umeda from 13th to fifth in the World Players Ranking. Sanchez advanced one place from fourth to third. Torbjörn Blomdahl (Sweden) only finished sixth in this event but is still the runaway leader. Frédéric Caudron (Belgium) stays in second.

The championship was held at the Salón de Eventos del Mall del Rio, Cuenca, Ecuador between 7th and 11th November.

See also:

Related posts:

Friday, November 16, 2007

Maguire triumphant in Northern Ireland Trophy

Northern Ireland Trophy 2007Scotland's Stephen Maguire won his third ranking title at the Northern Ireland Trophy.

Maguire beat Fergal O'Brien from Ireland 9-5 in the final to capture his first ranking title since the 2004 UK Championship.

For the second straight ranking tournament 2006 world champion Shaun Murphy (England) lost out 6-5 in the semi-finals. He was beaten by Maguire and Northern Ireland's Mark Allen lost 5-3 to O'Brien.

Defending champion Ding Junhui (China) was ousted 5-3 by Maguire in round three.

Maguire received £30,000 for the victory. O'Brien won £15,000 as runner-up. Ronnie O'Sullivan (England) won £20,000 for his 147 tournament high break. That was the seventh maximum of his career. He accomplished the feat in a breathtaking display against Allister Carter where he won 5-2 with five centuries. That's a first for a best-of-nine ranking match.

The win lifted him from fourth to third in the provisional rankings. O'Brien's runner-up spot moved him all the way from No.31 to No.19. Murphy is the new leader, O'Sullivan stays in second and John Higgins (Scotland) drops from first to fourth.

The event took place at the Waterfront Hall, Belfast, Northern Ireland Nov 4-11, 2007. It was the third tournament of seven on the 2007/2008 Main Tour. Next up is the Maplin UK Championship 8th December.

See also:

Related posts:
Shameless plugs:

Sunday, November 11, 2007

Daryl Peach is first British winner of the World Pool Championship

Daryl Peach from England won the World Pool Championship.

Peach grabbed $100,000 for defeating home favourite Roberto Gomez 17-15 in the final. Gomez got $40,000 for finishing second.

The final was a tightly contested affair. Gomez was 15-12 ahead at one point before Peach managed to take the last five games for the win.

In the semi-finals Peach overcame Vilmos Földes from Hungary 11-2. Gomez defeated England's Karl Boyes 11-4.

Peach won a controversial match against Francisco Bustamante (Philippines) in the quearter-finals. Everyone thought Bustamante had won the match with a 3-9 combination at 10-9. After watching the video though the referee ruled that Bustamante had hit the nine first and gave Peach ball in hand. The Brit then won that game and the next to move on to the semi-finals.

Gomez had played brilliantly throughout the event, winning 15 games in a row. He first won eight straight matches in the qualification. Then he won both his matches in the group stages and had five decisive wins in the knockout stages, 10-1, 10-2, 11-0, 11-4 and 11-4.

Former snooker pro Peach is the first player from Britain to win the world title.

Neither of the finalists had been in a world pool final before. Gomez was the top seed after the group stage of last year's event only to lose to eventual winner Ronnie Alcano (Philippines) in the first round of the knockout stage. Peach had previously never been better than 33rd.

The event was dominated by the European and Asian contingent. They both had four players in the quarter-finals.

The tournament ran from November 3-12 at the Araneta Coliseum, Quezon City, Metro Manila, Philippines.

See also:

Billiard sites

General sites

Player sites

News blogs




Related posts: