Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Jaspers wins AGIPI Billiard Masters - again

Dick Jaspers from Netherlands won the AGIPI Billiard Masters for the second year running.

World No. 4 Jaspers defeated world No. 1 Frédéric Caudron (Belgium) 50-34. Jaspers' final average was 2.174 compared to Caudron's 1.417.

Marco Zanetti (Italy) and Roland Forthomme (Belgium) shared third place.

It was the second successive victory for Jaspers in this event. Last year he defeated Torbjörn Blomdahl 50-39. He also played the final in 2008, then losing 50-26 to Blomdahl.

Including bonuses Jaspers earned €29.200 for the victory. Caudron took €22.950.

Players earned bonuses for runs of 10 or more and games won in 25 innings or less. In addition €2.500 was awarded to the player (Caudron) with the highest general average.

Zanetti had the highest run of the tournament with 19. Caudron had the highest general average of 2.398. Filipos Kasidokostas from Greece won one match in only 12 innings, resulting in the highest special average of 4.167.

The event's final stage took place 25-28 March 2010 at the AGIPI Auditorum, Schiltigheim, France and was televised live on Eurosport.

See also:

Related posts:

Monday, March 29, 2010

Ouschan has record-breaking performance at the 2010 European Pool Championships

European Pool Championships 2009Austria's Jasmin Ouschan had a perfect showing at the 2010 European Pool Championships.

As the first player ever Ouschan took gold in all available events; 8-ball, 9-ball, 10-ball and straight pool. Actually she won all but one match in the entire competition, a 7-3 loss to Line Kjørsvik (Norway) in 9-ball.

Ouschan successfully defended her golds in 8-ball and 9-ball from 2009. In 8-ball she also won in 2007 and 2008.

German legend Ralf Souquet also had a great event, scoring gold in both 9-ball and 10-ball.

Jouni Tahti from Finland copied that achievement in the wheelchair division. He took gold in 9-ball for the second year running.

Ouschan now tops the all-time medal standings with 23 golds. Souquet sits in second with 22 wins. Tahti is sixth in the same list with 10 victories.

This was the first time 10-ball was included in the programme.

Here are the results:

8-ball: Konstantin Stepanov (Russia) bt Marcus Chamat (Sweden) 8-6
9-ball: Ralf Souquet (Germany) bt Mateusz Sniegocki (Poland) 9-8
10-ball: Ralf Souquet (Germany) bt Niels Feijen (Netherlands) 7-4
14.1: David Alcaide (Spain) bt Artem Koshovyi (Ukraine) 125-3

8-ball: Jasmin Ouschan (Austria) bt Line Kjørsvik (Norway) 6-5
9-ball: Jasmin Ouschan (Austria) bt Gerda Hofstätter (Austria) 7-0
10-ball: Jasmin Ouschan (Austria) bt Ina Jentschura (Germany) 6-3
14.1: Jasmin Ouschan (Austria) bt Gerda Hofstätter (Austria) 75-19

8-ball: Kurt Deklerck (Belgium) bt Henrik Larsson (Sweden) 5-4
9-ball: Jouni Tahti (Finland) bt Henrik Larsson (Sweden) 7-1
10-ball: Jouni Tahti (Finland) bt Roy Kimberley (England) 5-0

The event was held 18-27 March, 2010 at Hotel Westin, Zagreb, Croatia.

See also:
Related posts:

Saturday, March 20, 2010

Hofstätter returns to winner's circle in 2010 San Diego Classic

2010 San Diego ClassicGerda Hofstätter from Austria won the season-opening 2010 San Diego Classic.

Hofstätter was undefeated throughout the event. In the final she beat Shu-Han Chang (Taiwan) 7-3 to earn the $12,700 first-place cheque. Chang received $7,800 for second.

The semifinals saw the Austrian defeat Karen Corr (Ireland) 7-4 while Chang edged Xiaoting Pan (China) 7-5.

This was Hofstätter's 12th (?) Classic Tour title but her first since the 2000 BCA Open 9-Ball Championship. She has also won the 1995 World Championship and has numerous European titles.

It was the second Tour victory in a row for Austria, as Jasmin Ouschan won the season-ending WPBA Championship.

Defending champion Monica Webb (USA) finished tied ninth after losing 9-3 to Hofstätter.

The event took place from March 10-14 2010 at the Viejas Casino, Alpine, California, USA. It was the first of two(!) events this season on the Classic Tour.

See also:
Related posts:

Monday, March 15, 2010

Turkey wins 2010 World Three Cushion Championship

2010 World Team Three Cushion ChampionshipTurkey won the World Team Three Cushion Championship for a third time.

The winning team consisted of Adnan Yüksel and Murat Naci Coklu. In the final they won 2-0 over Spain (Daniel Sánchez and Ruben Legazpi).

Netherlands and South Korea tied for third place in an event with teams from 21 countries.

Turkey has won the title twice before, in 2003 and 2004.

Five-time defending champions Sweden lost to Spain in the qyarterfinals.

Netherlands (A) had the highest general average of 1.820.

Of all the players Dick Jaspers (Netherlands) had the highest general average of 2.253. Yüksel had a 2.812 to top the single game averages. Colombia's Carlos Campino had the highest run with a perfect 15.

The tournament was played 25-28 February at Festhalle Viersen in Viersen, Germany.

See also:
Related posts: