Sunday, April 18, 2010

It's Peach over Sniegocki in the 2010 Italy Open

2010 Italy OpenDaryl Peach from England bagged his third Euro Tour trophy in the 2010 Italy Open.

In the final the 2007 world 9-ball champion defeated recent EC silver medalist Mateusz Sniegocki (Poland) 9-7. The victory was worth €5000. Sniegocki received €3300 for second place.

The semifinals were one-sided affairs with Peach and Sniegocki both winning 9-2, against Stephan Cohen (French) and Chris Melling (England) respectively.

This was Peach's first win in the Italy Open and third Euro Tour win overall, from four finals. He has previously won the 2007 German Open and the 2009 Portugal Open.

The win lifts him from eighth to second in the Euro Tour Ranking. Losing finalist Sniegocki improved from fifth to fourth. Ralf Souquet (Germany) is still on top and Imran Majid (England) drops one place to third.

The tournament was played 15-17 April 2010 at the Basso Hotels & Resorts Spa, Treviso, Italy. It was the second event of seven on the 2010 Euro Tour. Next up is the German Open which runs from 10-12 June 2010.

See also:
Related posts:

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Jaspers takes top honors in 2010 Suwon World Cup

Dick Jaspers from Netherlands won the 2010 World Cup event in Suwon, South Korea.

Dick Jaspers sneaked past Filipos Kasidokostas (Greece) 3-2 in the final. The frame scores were 1-15, 15-11, 14-15, 15-10 and 15-9.

He received €5,500 for the victory and Kasidokostas got €3,500 for second place.

Jeremy Bury from France and Tayfun Tasdemir (Turkey) lost out in the semifinals. Defending champion Frédéric Caudron (Belgium) lost 3-1 to Tasdemir in the quarterfinals.

This was Jaspers' 18th World Cup title and first since Spain 2008. He also won in Suwon in 2008.

The former world champion has had a terrific start to the year, having also won the recent AGIPI Billiard Masters.

Jaspers had the highest general average among the 56 competitors with 2.153. Caudron had the highest single match average in the final stage with 2.700. Korean Bong-so Kim's 15 was the highest run in the event.

The Dutchman moves into top spot in the 2010 World Cup Ranking with his win. Kasidokostas advances from fourth to third. Kyung-Roul Kim (South Korea) drops from first to second.

The win also moved Jaspers from fourth to second in the World Players Ranking. Kasidokostas improved from ninth to sixth. Caudron stays on top with Eddy Merckx (Belgium) dropping one place to third.

The event took place 6-11 April 2010 at the Manseok Park Badminton Gymnasium, Suwon, South Korea. It was the second of at least four events on the 2010 World Cup. The next event is in Matosinhos, Portugal, 12-18 July 2010.

See also:
Related posts:

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Boyes wins 2010 8-ball World Championship

2010 World 8-ball Pool ChampionshipKarl Boyes from England won the 2010 Etisalat World 8-ball Pool Championship.

In the final he edged 2008 World Straight Pool champion Niels Feijen from Netherlands 13-12.

The Englishman lead the final from start to finish. At one point he was 11-4 up, before Feijen came back to make it 11-9.

In the semifinals Boyes beat Ruslan Chinakhov (Russia) 10-2 and Feijen defeated 2008 10-ball world champion Darren Appleton (England) 10-6.

Defending champion Ralf Souquet (Germany) lost 10-9 to Feijen in the last 16.

This was the fifth 8-ball world championship held. The previous four winners were Efren Reyes (Philippines), Chia-Ching Wu (Taiwan), Ronnie Alcano (Philippines) and Souquet. Boyes is the first champion to not previously having won the 9-ball title.

Once again the Brits impress at a major pool event. Peach was the 2007 world 9-ball champion and Appleton won the 2008 World Ten Ball Championship. In addition England came second in the 2008 World Cup of Pool and Great Britain (with Boyes) won the 2010 Pool World Team Championship.

The tournament was played 5-10 April 2010 in Fujairah, United Arab Emirates.

See also:
Related posts:

Thursday, April 08, 2010

Reanne Evans captures record sixth straight World Ladies Snooker Championship

England's Reanne Evans won the World Ladies Snooker Championship for a record sixth straight time.

In a repeat of last year's final she beat compatriot Maria Catalano 5-1 to pocket the £1000 winner's cheque. Catalano got £500 as runner up.

Katie Henrick and Emma Bonney, both from England, shared third place.

Evans also posted the highest break in the event, a 78 in her 4-3 semi-final win over Henrick.

It was a record sixth world title in a row for Evans. In 2005 she defeated Lynette Horsburgh (Scotland) 6-1, in 2006 she beat Bonney 5-3, in 2007 she won 5-3 over Henrick, in
  • 2008 she beat Emma Banks (England) 5-3 and last year she defeated Catalano 5-2.

    Evans has now won 23 ranking titles and 57 straight matches on the WLBSA tour. No surprise then that she ended the season on top of the WLBSA official rankings.

    June Banks (England) retained her seniors title by beating countrywoman Eva Palmius 3-1 in the final. 13-year-old Hannah Jones (England) retained the juniors title by defeating Jasmine Bolsover (England) 2-0 in the final.

    Tatjana Vasiljeva (Latvia) and Maureen Rowland (England) beat Pam Wood and Laura Alves (Ireland) 2-0 in the ladies doubles.

    Vasiljeva also teamed up with Joe Perry (England) to win the mixed doubles event, beating English pair, Wood and Martin Gould, 3-2 in the final.

    In the final of the english billiards event two-time defending champion Bonney won by beating Chitra Magimairaj (India) 269-220. 2007 champion Magimairaj also took second last year.

    This championship is organized by the World Ladies Snooker & Billiards Association. It must not be confused with the IBSF World Championship. Evans has won that event three times.

    The tournament was played at the Stadium Snooker Club, Hall Green Stadium, Birmingham, England, 3-8 April, 2010.

    See also:

    Related posts:
  • Monday, April 05, 2010

    Mark Williams completes strong comeback to win 2010 China Open

    China Open 2010Mark Wlliams (Wales) won the 2010 Sanyuan Foods China Open.

    The two-time world champion won seven of the last eight frames in the final to defeat home favourite and 2005 winner Ding Junhui 10-6.

    The Welshman received £55,000 for the victory and Junhui got £28,000 for finishing second.

    Mark Allen (N.Ireland) and Allister Carter (England) lost out in the semifinals.

    Neil Robertson made a career first 147 in his 5-1 loss to Peter Ebdon to claim the high break prize of £22,000.

    This was the third China Open title for Williams and his 17th ranking title. His last ranking final was four years ago when he won the 2006 edition of this event.

    The win lifts Williams from ninth to seventh in the provisional rankings. Junhui improves from seventh to fifth. The top two remain the same, with Ronnie O'Sullivan (England) in first and John Higgins (Scotland) in second. Carter swaps places with Robertson to sit in third.

    The event took place at the Beijing Students University Stadium, China 29 March to 4 April, 2010. Next up on the snooker calendar is the World Championship which starts 17 April 2010.

    See also:
    Related posts:
    Shameless plugs: