Monday, February 22, 2010

Kyung-Roul Kim lifts first World Cup trophy in Turkey

Kyung-Roul Kim (South Korea) won the World Cup event in Antalya, Turkey.

Kim edged multiple-winner Dutchman Dick Jaspers 3-2. The frame scores were 13-15, 15-7, 15-11, 2-15 and 15-8.

Defending champion Martin Horn from Germany and Filipos Kasidokostas (Greece) lost out in the semifinals.

This was the 29-year-old Korean's first World Cup title. His previous best was second in the 2008 Suwon World Cup. In that final he lost 3-2 to Jaspers.

He received €5,500 for the victory and Jaspers got €3,500 for second place.

Marco Zanetti (Italy) had the highest general average among the 56 competitors with 1.846. Daniel Sanchez (Spain) had the highest single match average in the final stage with 2.464. Japanese Kouji Funaki's 13 was the highest run in the event.

With this being the first World Cup event of the season the Korean naturally leads the 2010 World Cup Ranking.

The win also moved Kim from sixth to fifth in the World Players Ranking. Jaspers improved from fourth to third. Frédéric Caudron (Belgium) stays on top with Torbjörn Blomdahl (Sweden) in second place.

The event took place 15-21 February 2010 at the Belconti Resort Hotel, Antalya, Turkey. It was the first of at least four events in the 2010 World Cup. The next events is in Suwon, South Korea, 6-11 April 2010.

See also:
Related posts:

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Feijen wins French Open for the second year running

2010 French OpenNiels Feijen successfully defended his title by winning the 2010 French Open.

In the final the merited Dutchman defeated first-time finalist Craig Osborne (England) 9-2. The victory was worth €5000. Osborne got €3300 for second place.

The semifinals saw Feijen defeating Malta's 2008 winner Tony Drago 9-5. Osborne overcame Dimitri Jungo (Switzerland) 9-3.

This was Feijen's second win in the French Open and sixth Euro Tour win overall, from 11 finals. That puts him in fourth place on the all-time list, only behind the German trio of Ralf Souquet, Oliver Ortmann and Thomas Engert.

The win keeps Feijen in third place in the season's first Euro Tour Ranking. Losing finalist Osborne improved from 14th to ninth. Souquet and Imran Majid (England) stay in first and second respectively.

The tournament was played 11-13 February 2010 at the Leader Billard Club, Paris, France. It was the first event of seven on the 2010 Euro Tour. Next up is the Italy Open which runs from 14-18 March 2010.

See also:
Related posts:

Monday, February 08, 2010

Great Britain wins inaugural Pool World Team Championship

Pool World Team Championship 2010Great Britain won the first ever Pool World Team Championship.

In the final they defeated Philippines 4-1 to claim the $75,000 first prize.

Greece were beaten 4-2 by Great Britain in the semifinals. Russia were defeated 4-1 by Philippines in the same round.

The winning team consisted of Imran Majid, Darren Appleton, Karl Boyes, Daryl Peach and Mark Gray. The Filipino team included Ronnie Alcano, Warren Kiamco, Antonio Lining, Marlon Manalo and Dennis Orcollo.

Once again the Brits impress at a major pool event. Peach was the 2007 world 9-ball champion and Appleton won the 2008 World Ten Ball Championship. In addition England came second in the 2008 World Cup of Pool.

The event took place from 31 January to 7 February at the Deutsche Messe, Hannover, Germany. 42 teams took part and all matches were a combination of scotch doubles and singles, in 8-ball, 9-ball and 10-ball.

See also:

Monday, February 01, 2010

Higgins wins 2010 Welsh Open in dominant fashion

Welsh Open 2010John Higgins (Scotland) won the 2010 Welsh Open.

The final against defending champion Allister Carter (England) was an impressive display of scoring power. He made breaks of 137, 101, 95, 81, 76, 72 (twice), 71, 59 and 54 in the 9-4 win.

The Scot received £35,000 for the victory and runner-up Carter got £17,500.

Ronnie O'Sullivan (England) and Stephen Maguire (Scotland) lost out in the semifinals.

Higgins also had the highest break of the event, a 138 which earned him £2,000.

This was the second Welsh Open title for Higgins and his 21st ranking title. He also won the event in 2000.

The win strengthens Higgins' lead in the provisional rankings. The next two also remain the same, with O'Sullivan in second and Neil Robertson (Australia) in third.

The event took place at the Newport Center, Newport, Wales 25-31 January, 2010. Next up on the snooker calendar is the Sanyuan Foods China Open which starts 29 March 2010.

See also:
Related posts:
Shameless plugs: