Friday, November 27, 2009

Burden and Yee win golds in the 2009 IBSF World Snooker Championships

England's Alfie Burden and Ng On Yee from Hong Kong won gold medals at the 2009 IBSF World Snooker Championships.

Burden beat surprise finalist Igor Figueiredo (Brazil) 10-8 in the men's final while Yee overwhelmed Australia's Kathy Parashis 6-1.

Yu Delu (China) and finished third in the men's event and Bi Zhuqing (China) reached the same position among the ladies.

These were the first world titles for both Burden and Yee. Burden is a former top-32 player on the Main Tour.

Neither of the defending champions competed this year. Thepchaiya Un-Nooh (Thaniland) is currently playing on the Main Tour while three-time winner Reanne Evans (England) could not find a sponsor.

The victory means Burden is set to be nominated for a return to the Main Tour in the 2010/2011 season.

The final in the Masters event saw two former pros clash. Darren Morgan (Wales) beat defending champion Dene O'Kane (New Zealand) 6-0. Morgan also won in 2007. Last year he played in the men's event, where he was knocked out in the last 16.

Highest breaks:
Men: Yu delu (China) 142
Women: Ng On Yee (Hong Kong) 77
Masters: Simon Zammit (Malta) 105

The event was held 15-25 November 2009 at the Hyderabad International Convention Centre in Hyderabad, India.

See also:
Related posts:

Monday, November 23, 2009

Chinese sensation Susha wins 2009 Women's World 9-Ball Championship

2009 Women's World 9-Ball Championship16-year-old Liu Shusha from China came out on top in the 2009 Kappa Women's World 9-Ball Championship.

In the final she won the last eight games to defeat three-time runner-up Karen Corr (Ireland) 9-5. The comeback included five consecutive break-and-runs.

In the all-Chinese bronze match Xiotang Pan trounced Fu Xiofang 9-1.

Shushua edged 2007 champion Pan 9-8 in the semifinals and Korr beat Xiofang with the same score.

Defending champion Yuan-Chun Lin from Taiwan went out in the early rounds after losing 7-0 to Corr.

This was the sixth world title in a row for Asian players. The last non-Asian to win was four-time champion Allison Fisher (England) in 2001.

The tournament ran from 16-22 November, 2009, in Shenyang, China.

See also:

Related posts:

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Caudron hoists second World Cup trophy of 2009 season in Suwon

Frédéric Caudron (Belgium) won the World Cup event in Suwon, South Korea.

In a roller-coaster final Caudron edged Italy's 2008 world champion Marco Zanetti 3-2. The frame scores were 7-15, 15-7, 5-15, 15-1 and 15-11.

Home hope Kyung-Roul Kim and Swedish legend Torbjörn Blomdahl lost out in the semifinals.

This was the Belgian's second win of this season and eighth World Cup title in total. He received €5,500 for the victory and Zanetti got €3,500 for second place.

Defending champion Dick Jaspers from Belgium and recent world champion Filipos Kasidokostas (Greece) both went out in the last 16.

Jaspers had the highest general average among the 56 competitors with 2.153. Zanetti's 3.214 was the highest single match average. The Italian also tied Kasidokostas for highest run with 13.

Caudron extends his lead in the World Cup Ranking. Zanetti improves from 11th to fifth. Eddy Merckx (Belgium) swaps places with Martin Horn (Germany) to lie in second.

The win also moves him from third to second in the World Players Ranking, just one point behind the leader Jaspers. Zanetti's runner-up finish takes him from eighth to seventh. Daniel Sanchez (Spain) drops from second to third.

The event took place 17-22 November 2009 at the Manseok Park Badminton Gymnasium, Suwon, South Korea. It was the fourth of five events in the 2009 World Cup. The last event is in Hurghada, Egypt, 6-12 December 2009.

See also:
Related posts:

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Kasidokostas wins 2009 Three Cushion World Championship

Filipos Kasidokostas from Greece captured the 2009 World Three Cushion Championship.

Kasidokostas played to a high standard in the final where he beat Eddy Merckx (Belgium) 3-1. The set scores were 11-15, 15-8, 15-13 and 15-3.

Two-time defending champion Marco Zanetti (Italy) and Eddy Leppens (Belgium) shared third place.

Kasidokostas took away €4,800 for the victory. Merckx received €3,200.

The Greek champion had the highest average in the tournament, with 1.869. In addition he had the highest single match average with 3.058. As if that wasn't enough he also tied for the highest run of 13 with Roland Forthomme (Belgium) and Sergio Jimenez (Spain).

This was Kasidokostas' first world title, from three finals. In 2003 he lost to Semih Sayginer (Turkey) and in 2004 he lost to Dick Jaspers (Netherlands). This was the 62nd edition of the world championship but the very first won by a Greek player.

Merckx was aiming for his second world title, having previously won in 2006.

The win takes Kasidokostas from 17th to 10th in the World Players Ranking. Merckx advances three places from eighth to fifth. Jaspers only finished ninth in this event but is still the leader. Daniel Sanchez (Spain) stays in second and Frédéric Caudron (Belgium) moves from third to second.

The championship was held at the Centre de congrès et d'expositions Beaulieu, Lausanne, Switzerland between 11th and 15th November 2009.

See also:
Related posts:

Ouschan ends season on a high by winning the 2009 WPBA Championship

2009 WBPA ChampionshipAustria's Jasmin Ouschan won the season-ending 2009 WPBA Championship.

In the final she beat Xiaoting Pan (China) 7-2.

The semifinals saw Ouschan edge Jeanette Lee (USA) 7-6 while Pan beat Kelly Fisher (England) in a 7-2 drubbing.

This was Oushan's first WPBA Championship win, her third victory of the season, and her fifth Classic Tour title in total. She was unbeaten in the tournament and apart from the semi-final thriller she was really never threatened.

Defending champion Monica Webb (USA) finished tied 17th after losing 7-6 to countrywoman Michell Monk.

Ouschan improved from fourth to second in the rankings for the 2009 Classic Tour. Pan dropped from second to third. Nobody could surpass Ga Young Kim (South Korea) though who won her first overall title. Last year's winner Kelly Fisher finished just outside the top four.

The event took place from November 12-15 2009 at the Seminole Hard Rock Casino, Hollywood, Florida, USA. It was the last of six events this season on the Classic Tour.

See also:
Related posts: