Monday, February 08, 2010

Great Britain wins inaugural Pool World Team Championship

Pool World Team Championship 2010Great Britain won the first ever Pool World Team Championship.

In the final they defeated Philippines 4-1 to claim the $75,000 first prize.

Greece were beaten 4-2 by Great Britain in the semifinals. Russia were defeated 4-1 by Philippines in the same round.

The winning team consisted of Imran Majid, Darren Appleton, Karl Boyes, Daryl Peach and Mark Gray. The Filipino team included Ronnie Alcano, Warren Kiamco, Antonio Lining, Marlon Manalo and Dennis Orcollo.

Once again the Brits impress at a major pool event. Peach was the 2007 world 9-ball champion and Appleton won the 2008 World Ten Ball Championship. In addition England came second in the 2008 World Cup of Pool.

The event took place from 31 January to 7 February at the Deutsche Messe, Hannover, Germany. 42 teams took part and all matches were a combination of scotch doubles and singles, in 8-ball, 9-ball and 10-ball.

See also:

No comments:

Post a Comment