Monday, October 13, 2008

The US team wins World Cup of Pool

World Cup of Pool 2008Shane Van Boening and Rodney Morris from USA won the World Cup of Pool.

In the final they defeated England's Daryl Peach and Mark Gray 11-7 to claim the $60,000 first prize. England earnt $30,000 for their runner-up position.

Holders China (Li He-wen and Fu Jianbo) were beaten 9-5 by England in the semi-finals. 2006 winners Philippines (Francisco Bustamante and Dennis Orcollo) were defeated 9-6 by USA in the same round.

Once again England impresses at a major pool event. Peach is the current world 9-ball champion, Gray is the current European No.1 and Darren Appleton recently won the World Ten Ball Championship.

The event took place from 7-10 October in Outland, Rotterdam, Netherlands. 32 teams took part and all matches were scotch doubles, winner breaks.

See also:

Related posts:


  1. What a HUGE win for Shane and Rodney! Congrats, big time!!

  2. Congratulations!

    It must have felt great for Morris to avenge the loss to the Philippines in the 2006 final.