Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Russell takes ninth world title in English Billiards

Mike Russell from England won the 2008 World Billiards Championship.

2006 champion Geet Sethi from India took silver after losing 1821-1342 in the final. Last year's runner-up Chris Shutt (England) and David Causier (England) finished joint third.

Just like last year Russell had the two highest breaks in the event; a 588 and a 272.

He has now won a record nine world pro titles; 1989, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007 and 2008. Some say it is ten since his name was also engraved on the trophy in 2000, even though there was no world championship that year.

Update: Billy has informed me that Mike's name now has been removed from the trophy for 2000.

The championship was held July 23-27, 2008 at the Northern Snooker Centre, Leeds, England.

See also:
Related posts:


  1. Hello, His name has since been taken off the trophy for 2000, as you are right there was no contest that year.



  2. Thanks for the information!

    The article has been updated.