Sunday, December 14, 2008

Europe retains Mosconi Cup

Mosconi Cup 2008Europe won the 2008 Mosconi Cup with a 11-5 thrashing of the US team.

The European team was in front all the way, leading 3-1 after the opening day, 5-3 after the second and 9-5 after the third. On Sunday Finland's Mika Immonen sealed the deal by defeating Shane Van Boening 5-3.

Immonen was named MVP of the event after single wins against Jeremy Jones, Earl Strickland, Jones again and finally Van Boening. The victory was especially sweet for the Finn as he missed match ball in their 2006 loss to the Americans.

This was the first time in Mosconi Cup history that Europe have managed to successfully defend the title. USA still leads the event with 11-4 though. Their last win came in 2006.

The teams:

  • Europe

    • Alex Lely (non-playing captain, Netherlands)
    • Tony Drago (Malta)
    • Niels Feijen (Netherlands)
    • Mark Gray (England)
    • Mika Immonen (Finland)
    • Ralf Souquet (Germany)
  • USA

    • Nick Varner (non-playing captain)
    • Johnny Archer
    • Jeremy Jones
    • Rodney Morris
    • Earl Strickland
    • Shane Van Boening

The event took place from December 11-14 at the Hilton Hotel, Portomaso, Malta. Matches were singles, scotch doubles and scotch quintuples with alternate break. Next year's Cup will be held in Las Vegas, USA.

See also:

Related posts:

No comments:

Post a Comment