Sunday, April 11, 2010

Boyes wins 2010 8-ball World Championship

2010 World 8-ball Pool ChampionshipKarl Boyes from England won the 2010 Etisalat World 8-ball Pool Championship.

In the final he edged 2008 World Straight Pool champion Niels Feijen from Netherlands 13-12.

The Englishman lead the final from start to finish. At one point he was 11-4 up, before Feijen came back to make it 11-9.

In the semifinals Boyes beat Ruslan Chinakhov (Russia) 10-2 and Feijen defeated 2008 10-ball world champion Darren Appleton (England) 10-6.

Defending champion Ralf Souquet (Germany) lost 10-9 to Feijen in the last 16.

This was the fifth 8-ball world championship held. The previous four winners were Efren Reyes (Philippines), Chia-Ching Wu (Taiwan), Ronnie Alcano (Philippines) and Souquet. Boyes is the first champion to not previously having won the 9-ball title.

Once again the Brits impress at a major pool event. Peach was the 2007 world 9-ball champion and Appleton won the 2008 World Ten Ball Championship. In addition England came second in the 2008 World Cup of Pool and Great Britain (with Boyes) won the 2010 Pool World Team Championship.

The tournament was played 5-10 April 2010 in Fujairah, United Arab Emirates.

See also:
Related posts:

No comments:

Post a Comment