Monday, September 01, 2008

Feijen dominates World Straight Pool Championship

2008 World Straight Pool ChampionshipNiels Feijen from Netherlands won the 2008 World Straight Pool Championship.

In a one-sided final he beat Francisco Bustamante (Philippines) 200-11. The losing semifinalists were Jasmin Ouschan (Austria) and Nick van den Berg (Netherlands).

Feijen went undefeated in the event, with 13 straight wins. It was his and Netherlands' first world title. Previously he has won four European titles - all in Straight Pool.

The Dutchman took home $14,000 for the win. Bustamante got $6,000 for his second place finish.

Thorsten Hohmann (Germany) won the High Run Award and $1000 with his 150 clearance against countryman Ralf Souquet.

Defending champion Oliver Ortmann (Germany) lost 200-133 to Ouschan in the quarter-finals.

Ouschan once again proved her own among the game's elite. Following her fifth place in 2006 and ninth place last year she now won her first medal in an open world championship. It's also the first medal won by any woman in a world pool championship. Apart from Ortmann she also defeated world-class players like Mika Immonen (Finland) and Radoslaw Babica (Poland).

The event was held August 25-30 at the Hilton Hotel in East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA.

See also:
Related posts:

No comments:

Post a Comment