Sunday, December 09, 2007

Bruno Muratore surprise winner of Costa del Sol Open

Italy's Bruno Muratore won his first major title by grabbing the Dynamic Costa del Sol Open.

In the final he edged Radoslaw Babica (Poland) 10-9 to win €5000. Babica took home €3300 for the runner-up position.

In the semi-finals Muratore beat last event's winner Mark Gray (England) 10-7 and Babica defeated Netherland's Niels Feijen 10-4. Defending champion Fabio Petroni (Italy) finished in 17th place.

This was Muratore's first win on the Euro Tour. Prior to this event he had never even reached the semi-finals.

The win took Muratore all the way from 16th to fourth in the final Euro Tour Ranking. Losing finalist Babica moved from 22nd to 11th.

Gray jumped from 12th to win the 2008 Euro Tour title by a margin of 45 points. He finshed the season with an impressive 3-1-3 run. Konstantin Stepanov (Russia) was relegated to second place, ahead of German legend Ralf Souquet. Last year's winner Nick van den Berg of Netherlands finished the season in 12th place.

The tournament was played 6-8 December at the Torrequebrada Hotel and Casino, Malaga, Spain. It was the seventh and final event on the 2007 Euro Tour. The first event of next season runs from February 7-9 2008.

See also:

Related posts:

No comments:

Post a Comment