Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Caudron gets win No. 9 in 2010 Porto World Cup

Frédéric Caudron from Belgium won the 2010 World Cup event in Porto, Portugal.

Caudron defeated Martin Horn (Germany) 3-0 in the final. The match was a lot closer than the score suggests though, as the game scores were 15-14, 15-14 and 15-9.

He received €5,500 for the victory and Horn got €3,500 for second place.

Jeremy Bury from France and Dick Jaspers from Netherlands lost out in the semifinals. Defending champion Eddy Merckx from Belgium went out in the last 16.

This was Caudron's first win of the season and ninth World Cup title in total.

Merckx had the highest general average among the 137 competitors with 1.744. Tayfun Tasdemir (Turkey) had the highest single match average in the final stage with 2.380. Along with Alfonso Legazpi (Span) and Jae Guen Kim (South Korea) he also had the highest run of 13.

Caudron improves to second in the 2010 World Cup Ranking with his win. Horn advances to fourth. Jaspers stays on top. Kyung-Roul Kim (South Korea) drops from second to third.

The win moves Caudron from third to first in the World Players Ranking. Horn improves one place to sixth. Jaspers drops to second and Merckx is down to third.

The event took place 12-18 July 2010 at Centro de Congresses Matosinhos, Porto, Portugal. It was the third of four events on the 2010 World Cup. The next event is in Hurghada, Egypt, 5-11 December 2010.

See also:
Related posts:

1 comment: